Meet the Team: Jess

by porchlightportland

*Tell us about yourself:
Hi! I’m Jess. I work at both lovely Porch Light locations and write many of the blog posts that you’ll find here. I grew up on the beaches of Rhode Island, attended a small arts college in Vermont and moved to Portland  a little over 5 years ago. When I’m not at Porch Light I’m usually in my studio designing jewelry for my two lines, Paper Treasure and Jesseca Anne.
*How long have you been working at P.L.?

I’ve been at Porch Light since January and it’s been a dream job!
*Have you always liked vintage things or did something/ someone in particular spark your interest?

My parents are both big antique collectors so I grew up going to flea markets and antique stores with them.  When I was 12 or so I discovered vintage buttons and began my first collection… I was drawn to the fantastic colors of bakelite and celluloid. At the time I wanted to collect enough to cover a whole purse with them. Although I don’t wear the purse anymore I still have a sweet spot for old buttons and I’ve been hooked on treasure hunting ever since.
*What sorts of things do you like to collect?
These days I collect antique jewelry, both to wear and to use in my own creations. I also love bottles, wooden boxes and art deco tins.
*Any hobbies, things you like to do in your spare time?
Working on jewelry takes up just about all of my spare time these days. If I’m not doing that I’m usually rummaging around in thrift stores or spending time with friends.

