Meet the Team: Veronica

by porchlightportland

*Tell us a little about yourself:

Hi there! I’m Veronica, one of the great ladies here at Porch Light. I am a mother of three cutie-pies; two beautiful girls, and one precocious little boy. I am originally from California, but after wandering through Denver, Hawaii, Washington and Germany, I have finally settled down here in Portland ever since 2003.
*How long have you been working at P.L.?
I am proud to say that I have been working at Porch Light for a year and a half, and that I have loved every single day of it!
*Have you always liked vintage things or did something/ someone in particular spark your interest?
I have always loved history and feel that vintage items are a way to live history. As a child, I loved early American History and wished that I was Laura Ingalls! As an adult I fell in love with the beauty and heart of the the first half of the 20th century. It doesn’t hurt that everyone back then had such a killer style!
*What sorts of things do you like to collect?
Hmm, well, I am fairly certain that when I grow up, I am going to be an eccentric old lady with a house filled with treasures! At the moment, my favorite collectibles are vintage Pyrex, chalk-ware fruit, milk glass, snack sets, and vintage dresses! I think my next thing to collect will be vintage sewing notions and vintage ceramic animals; because you know everyone needs vintage ceramic animals!
*Any hobbies, things you like to do in your spare time?
With three kids, my personal spare time is a precious commodity! That in mind, I try to spend it being creative. Some of my favorite things to do are cooking and baking. I don’t think many things get me more excited than cooking for theme parties! I love coming up with menu items and going crazy in the kitchen. My other passion is sewing. Although I am most definitely a novice, I have fallen in love with making my own clothes. I particularly enjoy making clothes from vintage patterns.
Thanks for reading about little old me, and I hope to see you all soon at Porch Light!
